Ginger + Aspen Leaves at the Crags = Happy Fall Day   Leave a comment

Meet Ginger.

She is a 10 month old (approximately) Chihuahua (and something else?) we adopted from the Humane Society the Friday before Labor Day. This started as an obsession with Pomeranians. While thumbing through the pages of People magazine, I saw a photo of the teddy bear look-alike dog named Boo (Google him, you’ll understand once you see how cute he is).

Apprehensively, I began to consider getting a dog again. My husband owned a Boxer and I owned a Lab before we met. Marriage made one dog become two, which required ten times the energy and patience. Eventually, after realizing we did not have what it takes to provide what two large dogs need, we re-homed them with some friends who have lots of land. It was a heartbreaking decision, but we knew it was best for Marvin and Charlotte. Unfortunately, both of them passed away recently, something that put dogs back in my subconscious.

At first, we felt guilty considering another dog…like we were betraying our other dogs. After serious discussions we decided to pursue the idea. After all, it would be one dog and a small one at that. I scoured the internet for Pomeranians–Humane Society (none), Mill Dog Rescue (lots–but with behavioral issues), various other rescues (didn’t respond to my correspondence). I was fixated on getting a teddy bear dog.

One evening while I was at the barn visiting Gioia, my husband called to say the Humane Society had a very cute Brussels Griffon. I was sort of open to other kinds of dogs so I met him there to look. By the time we got there, it had already been adopted. We planned to look at a couple of others, but after hearing about their temperament, we declined. The lady helping us was so kind that she decided to let us look at a dog even though it was past the time allowed. Hurriedly, we scanned the desperate faces peering back at us through their wire kennels.

Then we saw her (apparently, my husband had seen her during our first round…I was too busy looking for the Brussels Griffon). Her card said Chihuahua (a breed I had NEVER considered) but she didn’t quite look like a Chi. Her little fox face was so sweet. They told us she had been picked up as a stray, was very loving, a lap dog, and would make a great walking partner. Perfect! The moment she entered the visiting room she ran straight to my husband and began licking his hands. We both held her and instantly loved her.

But I wasn’t sure. I have SIGNIFICANT trouble making decisions, and this one seemed huge. We were nearing the desk when I began feeling panic. I wanted her, but wasn’t sure about 5 am daily walks, cost involved, house training, etc., etc., etc. In the end, my emotions won over (even though I felt as if I were going to throw up during the adoption process). Once we got her home, however, I knew we had made the right decision. It turns out SOMEBODY had house trained this dog. And leash trained her. And used a crate with her. How lucky did we get? It turns out I actually enjoy getting up early to walk her. And taking her on hikes, which brings me to today.

I love fall. With a passion. The crisp air, the bright sun, pumpkins, caramel apples, and especially leaves. I was desperate for some gold aspen leaves this weekend. I decided on the Crags since it is off Highway 67 on the way to Cripple Creek, one of the best fall drives in this area. Almost immediately after pulling off on the ridiculously bumpy dirt road, I saw two deer bounding across my path. I think the second one was a fawn of the first one. It stopped to look at me and I snapped this shot (the last one before the card was full!)

My memory card was not the only thing that was full. The lot was like a Walmart on Saturday. I barely squeezed the truck behind a car on the side of the road near the trail head.

There are restrooms at the trail head which is near a stream. After crossing the bridge, the trail inclines for a while.

Lone Aspen.

Depressed Aspen.

It began to rain a bit. The sun was shining through the clouds. Here is where the trail flattens out and becomes very enjoyable. Lots of bright aspens, copper-colored rock formations, and golden meadows.

It was somewhere in here where I crossed paths with a strange young man (in my paranoid mind, anyway). He was calling to someone or a dog in the trees. Finally, I heard him say, “There you are.” Another man appeared out of the trees. Then they switched directions and began following me. Here’s where I began to get nervous. I don’t like two strange men following me. Maybe it was coincidence, maybe they were stalking me, waiting for the right moment to pounce and drag me and my little dog into the woods. I chose to believe the latter, of course. I began walking more quickly, frequently glancing behind me to gauge the distance between us. I even started to plan my escape: I would wait until I crossed paths with some safe looking people and turn around right behind them. Safety in numbers, right? My paranoia was ruining this beautiful hike. I hadn’t planned on doing the whole thing anyway, since ominous clouds kept thundering overhead. I didn’t want to be caught in a storm AND be chased by two evil men. That would be doubly awful. Safe person after safe person passed and I still kept going. It was just too pretty and I wanted to keep going, whether it resulted in murder or not.

When I reached this rock, I finally turned around. I hadn’t seen the two men in a while so I had become lax with my escape plan. Plus, the thunder was increasing and I did NOT want to get stuck in a storm with a tiny dog. On the way back, I saw the two men again, in roughly the same spot I had first encountered them. What had they been doing all this time?They were standing on a hillside, looking suspicious. Other hikers were nearby, so I just kept my eye on them and sped up. I swear they watched me closely as I disappeared in the distance. I’m convinced they were up to something and knew I was on to them. Or they were wondering why this crazy woman was giving them the stink eye for no reason.

Anyway, the next time I will not go alone. I would like to do the whole thing without being in a state of hyper alert. Reportedly the views are great.

These are pictures I captured on the way back.

This was on the drive back down to Highway 67.

Since I was already so close, I decided to drive towards Cripple Creek to peep at some leaves. A steady stream of traffic trickled up the twining road. It started to rain just as I was getting these shots on the side of the road.

It was an ideal day for hiking. Cool temperatures, slightly overcast, beautiful fall color, and a little rain shower to make the drive back cozy ( a little dog sleeping in my lap helped, too 🙂 ).

Posted October 1, 2011 by The Casual Hiker in West of Colorado Springs

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a comment